Hasselblad. Finally.

2013-021-09JPEG

My Hasselblad is old and ugly, but it’s a great tool. I haven’t learned the ropes yet; the images are often tilted, out of focus or over-/underexposed. It doesn’t matter; it’s so fun to use! Once in a while I get it acceptably right, too.

I love that it’s made right across the border by the industrious Swedes and that they let Carl Zeiss make the lenses. Very wise.

The Hasselblad slows me down. It forces me to think hard about what and how to shoot. Bracketing is a luxury. Tripod is a must. It takes about one cigarette to decide aperture and shutter speed. I make many mistakes. I learn a lot. I’m having great fun!

I’ve been looking for a medium format system for a long time and I am glad I chose the Hasselblad. Additional accessories are expensive, though, so it won’t be much of a system for some time…

Comments about things I could have done better, or different, are very welcome. Perhaps you have a Hasselblad trick or two to share?

16 thoughts on “Hasselblad. Finally.

  1. I looked up the company, and on my.. Whatever your old camera looks like, the new generation is just beautiful. I don’t suppose you’ve posted a photo of what yours looks like?

    • That’s really neat!! My father in law has a bunch of older style cameras that are similar in function, if not form or results. I like thinking about all the different ways to capture a moment, and the time and consideration needed for this type is something I haven’t had a chance to try yet. I should keep my eye open for an opportunity. :D

  2. There is no better satisfaction than to stand for what seems an eternity, get all the framing, settings and focus right, hit the shutter and bang. A true photograph without the help of any outside source or something else making the decisions. A photograph made by the photographer.
    VERY nice photo above!!! Congratulations.
    Marks

  3. Congrats!!
    I have one too, and I LOVE it.
    Just use it a lot, and love it, and it will show in your images. It gets a bit dizzy in the beginning, but you’ll soon get used to it.
    Have a great weekend.

  4. The Hasselblad is an iconic camera. I own a 500CM and I’m always amazed by the results I get. On top of that being so modular you can keep on adding things to it. Congratulations.

  5. Welcome to the sometimes frustrating but always rewarding world of Hasselblad photography. No built in technology to hide behind – any mistakes are yours and yours alone, but doesn’t that make the lessons learnt all the more valuable? Good Luck!

  6. Thank you, all of you, for taking the time to comment. My 500CM is almost 40 years old. It was silly cheap, can you believe it? It has seen better days, but it works. It came with an old (but very nice) 2,8/80 C lens, a standard (but broken) viewfinder, two Polaroid backs and an A-12 film back. It’s valuable in every way, not least all the lessons (to be) learned.

  7. I own a 500CM and it is the queen of the house. It toke me a long, long time and a lot of cameras to finally come to the conclusion that the Hasselblad is the one. Love it for it’s simplicity and for being workhorse in a rather small package. I also love the Rolleiflex 6000 series. Okay I will stop now… once I go talking about cameras I don’t ever shut up :)

    • It’s such a shame Hasselblad discontinued the 500 series. The Rolleiflex 6008 is still alive, isn’t it? I hope DHW Fototechnik is still around when I can afford one…

    • Oh very much so, the Rolleiflex 6008 is an awesome camera and Rollei Germany still service it, which make it a pretty safe choice. I had the 6006. :)

Comment

