15 Minutes in Møhlenpris

In August 2011 I shot my first roll of medium format film. I had just bought a roll of Ilford PanF 50+, loaded it into a Zeiss Ikon Super Ikonta III that I had never used before, and exposed all twelve frames in 15 minutes in my neighborhood, using the Sunny 16 rule, as I had no exposure meter.

I made a post about the experience. “I might post one or two frames from this film in near future” I said then. A couple of weeks later I posted a very strange scan from that roll. I didn’t have access to a proper film scanner, so I used an old flatbed scanner. I said that I would “post the proper version later, for comparison”.

Yesterday I scanned that film with a dedicated film scanner (the awesome Hasselblad Flextight x1). Here’s what that image looks like in conventional scanning:

2011-38-01ED

It’s strange, but I think I like the ugly, green and dusty version from the September 2011 post better. (That tree has also appeared in (at least) two other posts: My View and Crow Tree.)

Here are some other shots from the same roll. These are all from the Møhlenpris neighborhood in Bergen, Norway.

2011-38-02ED

2011-38-06ED

2011-38-07ED

2011-38-11ED

2011-38-12ED

I’m quite happy with the exposure. I think I exposed most of these at f/4 and f/5,6 with the shutter speeds 1/50 and 1/100. Sunny 16 is as good as any meter in some situations. It’s especially useful in when it’s overcast and the light is so even and soft that what shadows there are fall within one stop from the rest. Sunlight is a different story. I find it very difficult to guess exposure in high contrast scenes.

I should perhaps make a post about the Super Ikonta III some time. It’s such a nice camera!

2 thoughts on “15 Minutes in Møhlenpris

  1. Sunny sixteen always works. And when in doubt, it’s better to err on the overexposure side than the other way, especially with modern film, which handles overexposure very well. Nice shots!

  2. This is a nice set. I just shot some Pan-F 50 for the first time myself. It has kind of an old-fashioned feel to it.

    Also, I see what you mean about the previous, green scan — it looks mysterious, like you dug it up in someone’s attic!

Comment

